Novel Report – The Final Revision of Homicidal Tendencies is On

Writer on Fire

Photo license

I’m back in the writing groove and working on the final revision of Homicidal Tendencies. When I finished the third draft, I had the impression there was a lot of revision to be done and it put me off getting to the final draft. After a break, I’ve reviewed the outline and solved all the remaining problems with very few changes. I’m halfway through the revision after less than two weeks.

When I write these editorials, I prefer not to just talk about my projects. On the other hand, talking about what I’m doing now is talking about what you will be doing when you finish your own novel. What’s coming up now that the manuscript is almost ready?

It’s time for me to learn some new skills. Reading the novel several times to make minor cuts and changes is nothing new. Formatting it as an ebook will take some study but I’m willing to learn it myself rather than risk a professional job that looks bad in some readers. Creating a cover photo is also going to take some learning and I understand the publication process can be complicated. Then it will be time to market my novel and get paid for my work. Lots to learn, but none of it is too complicated and I’m interested.

I can hear some doubters now. “You can’t learn all that, Ivan. You need to hire an editor, a photographer, and a marketing company. You need to pay someone for ebook formatting and distribution to online booksellers.” If I only wrote fiction, that could be true. Since I also write non-fiction, it’s not. Writing non-fiction requires researching and researching leads to learning new skills. When I research for non-fiction I do for others, I sometimes learn things of no interest to me at all. Learning new skills will not be a problem. I’m motivated and interested.

I will be learning the short tasks from scratch: ebook formatting, distribution, and creating a cover photo. My sneak peeks into these areas have shown me they will be a little complex to learn and then easy to do. The longer tasks are ones I’ve been working on for a while: editing and marketing. Editing is part of a writer’s job. I’ve done my own editing for decades. I’m not going to abandon it now. Marketing goes in many directions but comes down to having a platform as home base. That means a website, usually a blog.

Now you see why I’ve kept three blogs. The psychology blog was started when I was just learning to write topical articles and thought I might turn my 100 page psychology outline into a book one day. I began the writing blog when I noticed I had a lot of writing articles on my psychology site. The short story blog was started because the few short stories I had posted didn’t fit the other blogs. What does all this have to do with marketing?

Each of the blogs is a potential platform for promoting books on the same topics. I have at least one book planned for each. Effective marketing will require regular posts on the relevant blog. I’ve experimented with posting three times a week a few times and found I can get a blog’s Alexa rank into the top half million within a couple of months. When I do it for real, I’ll need to put more effort into social media and the blogging community, but that’s the only difference.

What does this mean for Writer on Fire? It will still be here. It will still have over 200 articles on writing. But most of my blogging efforts will need to go toward writing short fiction for my Killer Stories blog. If you just had a look, you know that I haven’t posted many short stories and they are mostly humor, experimental, and pulp fiction. There is nothing to indicate what my book will be like. Some sites selling the book may have a “read first pages” option, but I really need to produce some short stories.

Mostly, I haven’t liked other writers’ short stories. Mostly. Some write great short stories. Stephen King and Haruki Murakami, for example. I’ll need to take some time learning and practicing short stories. Good thing it’s a writing assignment. The only thing I like more than writing is reading.

Okay. Back to the book.

Article by Ivan Izo.

Leave a Reply

