Reflections at the 100 Post Milestone

Reflections at the 100 Post Milestone

Like most people, I like to review my projects now and then to see if they’re heading in the right direction. Things have changed a bit since I wrote the 50 Post Milestone article. Once again, I will look at past, present, and future directions for the blog and my writing.

Past

Since the last “Reflections” post, I’ve written over 100 articles. Fifty of them were writing articles that were posted here. There are another 46 writing articles waiting to be posted. I’ve also written articles on psychology, philosophy, religion, and other non-fiction topics.

I wrote a few more short stories during this time. I haven’t been able to get enthusiastic about short stories. Maybe, if I wrote more of them…

I also wrote the outline and first draft of a novel. This is the kind of writing I want to do more than any other. I took February off as a break before writing the second draft. I know the break was necessary, but I’m hyped to get back into my novel tomorrow.

Since the 50 Post article, I’ve also sketched out some non-fiction books I’d like to write. Unlike the outlines for novels, it’s safe to work on many non-fiction books. For example, nothing from the writing book is going to make it into the philosophy of psychology book.

Present

Now that my novel is back in my daily writing plan, it will be the main focus of my writing. That’s not bad news for the Writer on Fire blog. When I get stuck on my fiction, I take a break by writing short articles about writing.

Future

The future will see me writing several novels and non-fiction books. There will be plenty of articles and short stories along the way. A non-fiction book is basically a hundred articles that flow together logically. A novel always has lots of short stories within it. Everything we write hones our writing skills.

My plan for making money from writing novels comes from advice I’ve read, namely that “Publishers want to see proof that you can market a book yourself before they will buy your manuscript.” How can a person with little money market a book? They start a blog on a site like WordPress and write enough articles to make it popular. Then, they self-publish a book and sell it on the internet using their blog to promote it. If the book achieves enough sales, they’ve shown they can market their book.

It’s my opinion that people mainly buy non-fiction to read on their computers. That may not be the case now that there are Kindles and other pdf readers. I’ll need to look into it further. For now, the plan is to finish my first novel and then write a non-fiction book to self-publish. While I’m writing the non-fiction book, my breaks (when I get stuck) will be to write short stories. The Writer on Fire blog won’t run out of articles because I will have plenty more ready to go by the time I’m done the novel.

I’m aware that I often make plans that go beyond my current abilities. I achieve more this way than if I were to aim for what I can do easily. Writing is the perfect vehicle for this goal setting style. Everything we write is something that lasts. If we fall short, it’s still there for the next big push.

Are there flaws in my plan? Should I self-publish this first novel? Am I going to find out that self-publishing requires money too? Whatever the answers may be, I’ll still be writing.


Article by Ivan Izo.

Leave a Reply

