Reflections at the 50 Post Milestone

Reflections at the 50 Post Milestone

Reaching 50 posts is an important milestone for a blog, or so I’ve heard. I don’t feel any different. I know that new visitors will find something to read if they’re interested in writing. A lot of people say that reaching 50 posts makes the search engines take notice. We’ll see about that.

This is a good time for a status update. Past, present and future.

Past

I started a blog to have a place to make announcements about a group project. When that fell through, I went ahead and wrote a few articles and short stories. My role in the floundering project was as the screenwriter, so most of the articles were about writing scripts.

For me, writing screenplays is only slightly less boring than writing technical manuals. It was inevitable that the posts would move on to other kinds of writing. Article writing because blog posts are articles. Novel writing because I always seem to have a novel in progress. And general writing tips. Something for everybody.

The original project posts and the short stories weren’t about writing. I also wanted to start posting some psychology articles. To kill two birds with one stone, I created a new wordpress blog (this one) and ported all of the writing articles over. That left the original blog available for posting psychology articles and allowed the new blog to have only writing articles.

Present

I’ve tried to guess what my readers want. Posts about article writing seem to be popular, but less so if they don’t apply to writing blog posts. Posts about writing faster seem to get a lukewarm response. And posts about writing fiction don’t seem to draw any interest.

All of those results are nothing more than guesses. They could be affected by how frequently I’m posting, the day of the week, and who else has posted an article that day.

Future

One thing is certain about future posts. There will be more like what I’ve posted in the past.

But, what should be my driving focus? Originally, it was screenwriting. Then it was mainly about writing novels for a while. And lately it’s been about article writing.

The focus doesn’t need to be about a particular writing type. There are writing blogs that zoom in on some part of the process (prompts, for example) or news about writing (like publishing scams).

If there’s one kind of article that grabs my attention more than any other, it’s articles about how to write more. More often, more material, even more types of writing. How to write more is my main focus going forward. Other types of writing articles will still be posted. I can’t let a good idea go to waste.

Prolific writers have always amazed me. Some of their stories are hard to believe, but there are witnesses and published books to prove they’re true. Ryoki Inoue has written up to three 100 page books in one day. Martin Caiden has written books in one draft over several days with no revision. Isaac Asimov has written books in almost every major category of the dewey decimal system. Expect a few articles about prolific writers in the future.

If I learn the secrets of prolific writing well, it shouldn’t be long before you see a post called Reflections at the 100 Post Milestone.

Article by Ivan Izo.

2 thoughts on “Reflections at the 50 Post Milestone

  1. Mike July 5, 2011 / 7:21 pm

    Hi David,
    congrats on the milestone! How long did it take you? For me it was something like 2.5 years 🙂

    I am absolutely non-prolific, sometimes obsessing over blog posts needlessly. Looking forward to learn how to write faster.

    Like

    • David Smith July 6, 2011 / 9:55 pm

      Hi Mike,
      I put up my first writing post in October of 2009, so almost 2 years. I move back and forth between being a prolific writer and not. Distractions slow me down, especially reading. I’ve really noticed my writing speed improve during the two years I’ve been blogging. I think it’s because blogging forces me to get some writing done to post. Keeping a writing journal has probably been the second most useful tool for increasing my writing speed. I can really churn out the words when I don’t expect anyone to be reading them – and then some of them turn into blog posts. Go figure. Thanks for the comment, Mike.

      Like

Leave a Reply

